6 Degrees of Deliberation

I think a person shows their true colours when it comes time to hold the door for someone. You’re in a public place, you open a door, let your arm straighten as you grab hold of the edge and give a little shoulder check to see how close your next pursuer is. Personally, I’m about a 5 stepper. That cut off point, however, is anything but black and white. Today, for instance, I had a guy in the 6-7 step range. I did the full arm extension, clear check back and even a split second hesitation dance before deciding that I had better places to be. I didn’t dare look back after letting the door swing shut and I obviously felt at least enough shame to write this.

I have long since accepted that we don’t live in a world with moral absolutes. But I do wish that door holding was a little more like golf. When a golfer is posed with a short tap in putt he will look to his playing partner for the go ahead to finish out. I think the onus is on the 5+ step follower to acknowledge that no corridor is a soup kitchen and that the door holder gets enough brownie points for at least considering waiting. The follower should give a little nonchalant wave and a “just go…”

I think the main things to consider in a grey territory door holding stand off are the following:

1) Is this a potential mate?

2) How bad do I have to pee right now?

3) Will I ever see this person again?

4) What is my recent good deed to selfish behavior ratio?

5) Did we reach an agreement with our eyes?

6) What Would Jesus Do?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

