Jan 29 – Save a Horse, Ride a Fucking Grizzly Bear

 

I’ve become a bit of a night hawk lately. This month has been slower in terms of work and so my priorities have shifted to gaining an even greater appreciation for the local music scene and getting more involved with the very unique people in my life. It would be very difficult to recapitulate every encounter in January but perhaps I will highlight just a few.

The other night I pulled off a wonderful stunt that allowed me to essentially be in two places at once. One of the joys of living in Inglewood is that there are several popular music venues all within a few blocks of each other. My first priority on this night was to attend to my sound board duties. My friend Carla Olive was performing at Gravity and my new favourite alt. rock band Diatessaron was playing 30 paces down the road at a place called The Area. The first show started at 8pm so I wandered over with my friend Emma (whom I’ll describe shortly) to set up at around 7. Once that was done I was free to listen to her set until 10pm. By that point the levels and mixes were all set and I was free to dash the one block to The Area. This is by far the most unique venue in the city. It looks like a run down house from the outside with not much more than a cardboard sign identifying it. I walked into a kitchen/common room where the band was taking cover charges and selling drinks. I took over those duties while they set up the gear and then walked outside to the large shed where they were performing. To add to the eclectic sound experience the band also hired a fire eater/breather. I managed to snap a couple of phone pics. Note the painting of a naked woman riding a Grizzly bear in the background. I got to meet the artist that night as well.

Calgary-20130118-00146

Calgary-20130118-00147-1

IMG-20130118-00144

 

It turns out that deep throating a raging ball of fire is the sexiest thing a woman can do. At one point I got a sultry look from the mystic devil woman and I found out afterwards that I was not suave about it. Perhaps my lack of composure did me well as moments later I was recruited to be her volunteer for the next stunt.

I would literally have to write a novel to cover all of the other great acts I’ve seen this month. All I can do is provide links below to websites and highly recommend that the reader make an effort to get involved with his/her local music scene. It’s a wonderful thing to develop a personal relationship with local artists. I love walking into a plethora of different venues and being greeted by not only fellow spectators but also the performers themselves. Everyone is very supportive and super friendly/sexy. They are also just as convincing as established artists but without the potential pretentiousness or big ticket prices. I can only hint at the sexiness of these folks so until you can actually see them in real life here is a little side boob glimps for ya.

Sykamore

Georgia Sound

Hello Moth

Diatessaron

Joe Nolan

Monikor

Jocelyn and Lisa

Carter Felker

Timothy Llwellyn 

Bryson Waind

Carla Olive (Trio)

There are also lots of phenomenal open mic performers that do not yet have websites but are a delight to listen to.

 

Music isn’t the only game in town. There is also a decent spoken word community in Calgary. Right now I am just stalking around the perimeter but I have occasionally poked my head in to sneak a peak at the scene. Last night I went to an event called “Expressions” which is hosted by my good friend Miles. We recently had one of those talk-all-night (almost) adventures. We went and saw Tim/Carter play at Koi and then headed over to the Blues Can to catch the end of Joe Nolan’s set. He made an attempt to court our waitress but apparently poets only get laid in Shakespeare. After that I drove him home but after talking for an hour in my van we decided that we should take the party to McDonald’s. Miles is an Atheist and a quasi Libertarian so not only do we get along fine but we also have rather passionate discussions. I could see through the playplace mirrors that we were attracting some attention (I can never tell if spectators are intrigued because they agree or strongly disagree). We also recently had a good talk about the futility of censorship. It inspired his muse and hours later I received a poem on this very subject. I generally ignore age and I no longer inquire how old anyone is. I will mention that Miles is 30 and that Emma, my next subject, just turned 18 because I want to demonstrate how it really makes no difference.

Emma is my youngest good friend but she is also one of the most mature people I know. She is also the most incorruptible person I know and I would certainly vote for her to be President of the World if such a position were to ever open up. Emma was home schooled and has the most supportive, loving and lenient parents that one could hope for. Because of this she gives of the impression of innocence. While I think in many ways the weight of the world hasn’t crushed her enough yet I also know that she has tasted darkness and is aware of it’s ubiquitous presence.

The main thing that draws me to Emma (aside from her musicality and our shared mentalities) is our absolutely unfiltered, no holds barred conversations. Honestly comes automatically to Emma. Not only that, but she will actively bring up potentially discomforting material because it is much more interesting to talk about. I’ve had to adjust to that kind of direct conversation but it hasn’t been that hard because she finds no shame whatsoever in anything we talk about. In case anyone is wondering, no, nothing is going to happen here. I went to see a 50 person choir show called London Calling with her and afterwards as only Emma could do, she told me that she was interested in someone else and that she really wants to be friends. I laughed because I felt the same way and so nothing needed to be said but I guess she wouldn’t have known that and if there was even the slightest motivation to say something Emma would say it. She’s backpacking in New Zealand for the next 6 weeks so no more stories about her for a little while.

As Glen Gould once said “Behind ever silver lining is a dark cloud” and unfortunately that is where the last segment of this blog takes us. I recently had to sever ties with a girl in my life that I cared very much for. It is still eating me up inside but I think I made the right decision. I won’t mention her name but there is a girl I met recently and we had gotten rather close to each other, especially in the last week. As much as we cared for one another it was still clear that we were cancerous to each other. After a rather demoralizing event late on Saturday night I told her that we shouldn’t spend anymore time together and I even had to go as far as to delete her number from my phone so that I couldn’t contact her. I didn’t sleep at all that night but the silver lining behind the dark cloud behind the other silver lining is that I got to prank call lil’ Lawrence – a long overdue retaliation.  I still feel like a sack of shit still but a slightly lighter sack of shit than she made me feel like. So that’s good I guess.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jan 29 – Save a Horse, Ride a Fucking Grizzly Bear

  1. James says:

    It doesn’t escape me that you’ve quoted a man who genuinely seemed afraid of the world. Not generally what I expect from you but I’m amused 🙂

  2. dougyblog says:

    The fact that bad things happen actually makes me excited about the world. I don’t know what Glen was so afraid of. If I had to live in Pleasantville I’d loose my mind. He also said that his mood was inversely related to the weather though. I prefer the sun but maybe he also got a kick out of some of life’s interesting twists.

Leave a Reply

