Jan 1 – A New Year

To the woman he said,

“I will greatly increase your pangs in childbearing; in pain you shall bring forth children, yet your desire shall be for your husband, and he shall rule over you.”

Genesis 3:16

Something about New Year resolutions feels off. It is a completely arbitrary timeline and as far as I can see they are seldom kept. On the other hand, goal setting can be a healthy exercise and I want to lay out a few plans through some sort of medium, so it may as well be now and it may as well be here.

To start the year I will be receiving a raise. I’ve thought about what specific things I want to indulge in for the betterment of my person. I have been trying to stick to the general principles of the Paleo-diet but I have not been following it with true earnestness. I’ve decided that once a week I want to buy a piece of game meet. I have been avoiding the leaner cuts because they are more expensive. Now that I have some more wiggle room I have decided it will be worth it. I will start with once per week and re-evaluate as I go.

The second idea I have is to first investigate the hygiene products I use and then perhaps invest in more friendly alternatives. By this I mean that I have become aware of the fact that a lot goes in to say,  a bar of soap. Perhaps it is all good and I have nothing to worry about, but perhaps some of those ingredients are a little bit harsh and I should avoid putting them directly on my skin (an easy portal to the bloodstream). I want to investigate things such as soaps, lotions, deodorant, etc and perhaps make the switch to some hippie products instead. Stay tuned.

I also want to take on some ambitious reads. Some of the big dogs on my list include

  1. The Bible (currently re-reading the Pentateuch)
  2. Moby Dick
  3. War and Peace

Since, when in my normal routine, I have been able to rise earlier, I have also been able to read a lot more. If this trend continues I should be able to get through all of these (as well as other interesting books that I come across along the way).

In terms of adventures, I have a lot brewing on that front and I will probably post a tentative list soon.

In terms of Music I plan on getting a recording done, which will hopefully lead to more gigs. I have recently acquired another band member (potentially). I have decided to bite the bullet and do the often painful open mic tours around Calgary. I know no one and I need to start networking.

Other than that I just want to keep digging and musing. Just as important as finding answers is figuring out what questions to ask. Recently, I am enthralled by the later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

