Dec 28 – Year in review

This year brought about many changes and many adventures for me. This time last year I was 6 months into my “year off,” sleeping in a closet in Hamilton. That ended abruptly when I started this job with Mizuno and moved out West.

Throughout the year I have had to adapt to new surroundings. Most notably, I often wake up in different beds. I’m not sure if I can do a full recapitulation but I shall try. Starting from my last night in my bed in Hamilton I went to:

  1. My bed in my old house in Bright’s Grove
  2. 4 hotels en route to Calgary
  3. My cousin’s place for a month
  4. Super 8 in Invermere (x2)
  5. New apartment
  6. Econolodge Edmonton x 3-4
  7. Derrick Motel x ? (until I found the used nudie mag under my bed)
  8. Super 8 Edmonton x 10
  9. Ramada Lethbridge
  10. Econolodge Lethbridge x 3
  11. Neighbour’s
  12. Brother’s in Red Deer x many
  13. Bro’s in Edmonton x 6
  14. Friend’s in Canmore
  15. White House in Atlanta x 3
  16. Resort outside Atlanta x 3
  17. Nice Ass hotel in Vancouver
  18. Cousin’s in Vancouver x 2
  19. Other Cousin’s in Vancouver
  20. Train
  21. Tent x 4
  22. Bed and Breakfast in Bamfield
  23. Hostel in Port Renfrew
  24. Coast in Edmonton x 2
  25. Ramada in Edmonton
  26. Sandman in Grand Prairie
  27. Hostel in Toronto
  28. Eagle’s Nest in Hamilton x 3
  29. Cottage in Ottawa x 3
  30. Friends’ in Invermere x 2
  31. Dad’s in Camlachie x 2
  32. New House in Sarnia x last week of the year

 

I am sure that I am forgetting some but that at least gives you an idea. It took a little while to adjust to that 2 seconds “where am I” feeling upon awakening, but now I don’t even feel it any more.

***

Other than that I only have one other thing to comment on. I tend to go through phases of interest in religion. Since my grandpa’s funeral I have slipped back into a fury of not just atheism but anti-theism. I’ve gotten better at reserving my intensity for more appropriate situations but since this is my blog and I am not forcing anyone to read it I will just continue to say what I want. Rather than launch into a rant (for now) I will simply be regularly posting (perhaps, I’m horrible at keeping up with these things) a passage from the Bible. One of my favourite free-thinkers is Penn Jillette. He says that the best way to become an atheist is to read the Bible, cover to cover, without anyone else interpreting it for you. Just read it and think about it.

My first selection is a repeat of my Christmas Facebook post. I used the KJV there but since I read from the NRSV I will post this version.

Jeremiah 10 2-4

“Thus says the LORD: Do not learn the way of the nations, or be dismayed at the signs of the heavens; for the nations are dismayed at them. For the customs of the peoples are false: a tree from the forest is cut down, and worked with an ax by the hands of an artisan; people deck it with silver and gold; they fasten it with hammer and nails so that it cannot move.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

