Dec 1st – Doug Steele

“That’s the whole trouble. You can’t ever find a place that’s nice and peaceful, because there isn’t any. You may think there is, but once you get there, when you’re not looking, somebody’ll sneak up and write “Fuck you” right under your nose.”

– Holden Caulfied, Catcher in the Rye

Well, I’m finally back in the Hammer. Though it is under somewhat unfortunate circumstances, it still feels great to be home. I will be bouncing back and forth between here, Sarnia, Mississauga and Toronto for the next several days. Hence, a bit of driving is in store, but nothing that I’m not used to now a days.

I have almost adopted a tell-all style of writing but there actually were some events last week that I don’t think I can divulge. Instead, I will just rant about how awesome some recent reads have been. I hoovered Catcher in the Rye the other day. It was by far one of my favorite books of all time. It had a very On the Road feel to it. It is funny how books that you may hate when forced to read in school turn out to be astounding to you later in life. I felt this way with Hamlet as well.

Another wicked work I stumbled upon the other day while bumming around my neighborhood book shop was Bluesman (A Twelve Bar Blues in the Key of Life and Death. It is a graphic novel (not comic book…I was corrected on this by the owner) about a Bluesman trying to eek out a living in the 20’s. It is a 3 part series so I will have to sit down with the next 2 at some point.

Hanging out at The Den?(Is that what it’s called?) tonight. It’s a cozy little set up and it saved me driving back to Sarnia tonight. Everyone is being a legit student and so I am up by myself now – listening to Daughter and musing. Haven’t had a good muse in almost a couple of hours now, so it feels nice. I through out a hail marry text to the Arkells, as they are done their Western Canada tour now, but no word yet. I have really gotten in to their new album since the concert. Definitely go check it out if you haven’t already. Also, I’m diggin’ this Daughter girl. Anyone know here number?


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dec 1st – Doug Steele

  1. Jeremy Walsh says:

    Daugther. So hot right now. Although I think the UK is long distance from here.

Leave a Reply

